Reel Reviews

The Unborn - DVD Review

The UnbornMPAA Rating: PG-13 for intense sequences of violence and terror, disturbing images, thematic material and language including some sexual references.
Runtime: 87 mins.
Director: David S. Goyer
Writer: David S. Goyer
Cast: Gary Oldman; Meagan Good; Carla Gugino
Tagline: Evil will do anything to live.
Genre: Horror
Memorable Quote: "Jumby wants to be born now. "
Release Date: January 9, 2009
DVD Release Date: July 7, 2009
Distributor: Rogue Pictures

2 stars

Read more: The Unborn - DVD Review

Year One - DVD Review

Year OneMPAA Rating: PG-13 for crude and sexual content throughout, brief strong language and comic violence. (edited; originally Rated R for some sexual content and language.)
Runtime: 97 mins.
Director: Harold Ramis
Writer: Harold Ramis & Gene Stupnitsky
Cast: Jack Black; Michael Cera; Oliver Platt David Cross
Tagline: Meet your ancestors.
Genre: Comedy
Memorable Quote: "Well there won't be any berries in the fruit salad now, so we all lose.
Release Date: June 19, 2009
DVD Release Date: Not yet on DVD.
Distributor: Columbia Pictures

1 Star

Read more: Year One - DVD Review

The Proposal - DVD Review

The ProposalMPAA Rating: PG-13 for sexual content, nudity and language.
Runtime: 107 mins.
Director: Anne Fletcher
Writer: Pete Chiarelli
Cast: Sandra Bullock; Ryan Reynolds; Mary Steenburgen
Tagline: Here comes the bribe...
Genre: Comedy | Romance
Memorable Quote: "We are uh... getting married"
Release Date: June 19, 2009
DVD Release Date: October 13, 2009.
Distributor: Walt Disney Studios Motion Pictures

3 Stars

Read more: The Proposal - DVD Review

My Bloody Valentine 3D

My Bloody ValentineMPAA Rating: R for graphic brutal horror violence and grisly images throughout, some strong sexuality, graphic nudity and language.
Runtime: 101 mins.
Director: Patrick Lussier
Writer: Todd Farmer and Zane Smith
Cast: Jensen Ackles; Jamie King; Kerr King
Tagline: On January 16, Get Your Heart Broken.
Genre: Horror
Memorable Quote: "Jason, is that you? "
Release Date: January 16, 2009
DVD Release Date: May 19, 2009
Distributor: Lionsgate

1 Star

Read more: My Bloody Valentine 3D

UP DVD/Blu-ray Review

UpMPAA Rating: PG for some peril and action.
Runtime: 96 mins.
Director: Pete Docter; Bob Peterson
Writer: Bob Peterson
Cast: Edward Asner; Christopher Plummer; Delroy Lindo; John Ratzenberger ... complete cast
Tagline: Up.
Genre: Animated | Comedy
Memorable Quote: "You got a "run away in terror" badge?" ... more quotes
Release Date: May 29, 2009
DVD Release Date: November, 10, 2009.
Distributor: Buena Vista Pictures

5 Stars

Read more: UP DVD/Blu-ray Review

Drag Me to Hell - Blu-ray Review

Drag Me to HellMPAA Rating: PG-13 for sequences of horror violence, terror, disturbing images and language.
Runtime: 99 mins.
Director: Sam Raimi
Writer: Sam Raimi & Ivan Raimi
Cast: Alison Lohman; Juston Long; Lorna Raver
Tagline: Christine Brown has a good job, a great boyfriend, and a bright future. But in three days, she's going to hell.
Genre: Horror/Thriller
Memorable Quote: "We would have to throw her out of her house"
Release Date: May 29, 2009
DVD Release Date: October 13, 2009.
Distributor: Universal Pictures

4 stars

Read more: Drag Me to Hell - Blu-ray Review

Night at the Museum: Battle of the Smithsonian - DVD Review

Night at the Museum 2MPAA Rating: PG for mild action and brief language.
Runtime: 105 mins.
Director: Shawn Levy
Writer: Robert Ben Garant & Thomas Lennon
Cast: Ben Stiller; Amy Adams; Owen Wilson; Robin Wilson
Tagline: When the lights go off the battle is on.
Genre: Action | Comedy
Memorable Quote: "It's the United States of "Don't Touch That Thing Right in Front of You."
Release Date: May 22, 2009
DVD Release Date: Decmeber 1, 2009.
Distributor: Twentieth Century-Fox Film Corporation

2 stars

Read more: Night at the Museum: Battle of the Smithsonian - DVD Review

Underworld: Rise of the Lycans - Blu-ray Review

Underworld: Rise of the LycansMPAA Rating: R for bloody violence and some sexuality.
Runtime: 92 mins.
Director: Patrick Tatopoulos
Writer: Danny McBride and Dirk Blackman
Cast: Michael Sheen; Bill Nighy; Rhona Mitra
Tagline: Underworld: Rise of the Lycans.
Genre: Action | Fantasy | Horror
Memorable Quote: "Vampire and Lycan, we are both the children of Corvinus. Yet my kind are slaves. I will use this one day. And I will leave this place. But I can never be without you."
Release Date: January 23, 2009
DVD Release Date: May 12, 2009
Distributor: Screen Gems

3 Stars

Read more: Underworld: Rise of the Lycans - Blu-ray Review

Terminator Salvation - DVD Review

Terminator SalvationMPAA Rating: PG-13 for intense sequences of sci-fi violence and action, and language.
Runtime: 130 mins.
Director: McG
Writer: John D. Brancato & Michael Ferris
Cast: Christain Bale; Sam Worthington; Moon Bloodgood
Tagline: The End Begins.
Genre: Action | Sci-Fi
Memorable Quote: "Win or lose, this war ends tonight! "
Release Date: May 21, 2009
DVD Release Date: December 1, 2009.
Distributor: Warner Bros. Pictures

2 stars

Read more: Terminator Salvation - DVD Review

Angels & Demons - DVD Review

Angels & DemonsMPAA Rating: PG-13 for sequences of violence, disturbing images and thematic material.
Runtime: 138 mins.
Director: Ron Howard
Writer: David Koepp and Akiva Goldsman
Cast: Tom Hanks; Ewan McGregor; Stellan Skarsgard
Tagline: The holiest event of our time. Perfect for their return.
Genre: Crime | Drama | Mystery
Memorable Quote: "When you write about us, and you will, do so gently. "
Release Date: May 15, 2009
DVD Release Date: November 24, 2009.
Distributor: Sony Pictures Entertainment

4 stars

Read more: Angels & Demons - DVD Review

Management DVD Review

ManagementMPAA Rating: R for language.
Runtime: 93 mins.
Director: Stephen Belber
Writer: Stephen Belber
Cast: Jennifer Aniston; Steve Zahn; Margo Martindale
Tagline: A touching comedy.
Genre: Comedy | Romance
Memorable Quote: "I know what you need. To take care of yourself so that the people who love you don't feel like they're annoying you."
Release Date: May 15, 2009
DVD Release Date: September 29, 2009
Distributor: The Samuel Goldwyn Company

3 Stars

Read more: Management DVD Review

Knowing - DVD Review

KnowingMPAA Rating: PG-13 for disaster sequences, disturbing images and brief strong language.
Runtime: 121 mins.
Director: Alex Proyas
Writer: Ryne Douglas Pearson and Juliet Snowden
Cast: Nicolas Cage; Chandler Canterbury; Rose Byrne; D.G. Maloney
Tagline: Knowing is Everything...
Genre: Action Mystery | Sci-Fi
Memorable Quote: "What happens when the numbers run out? "
Release Date: March 20, 2009
DVD Release Date: July 7, 2009
Distributor: Summit Entertainment

3 Stars

Read more: Knowing - DVD Review

Star Trek - DVD Review

Star TrekMPAA Rating: PG-13 for sci-fi action and violence, and brief sexual content.
Runtime: 126 mins.
Director: J.J. Abrams
Writer: Roberto Orci & Alex Kurtzman
Cast: Chris Pine; Zachary Quinto; Leonard Nimoy; Eric Bana
Tagline: Star Trek.
Genre: Action | Adventure | Sci-Fi
Memorable Quote: "Your father was captain of a starship for twelve minutes. He saved 800 lives, including yours. I dare you to do better. Enlist in Starfleet."
Release Date: May 8, 2009
DVD Release Date: November 17, 2009
Distributor: Paramount Pictures

4 stars

Read more: Star Trek - DVD Review

Star Trek - DVD Review

Star TrekMPAA Rating: PG-13 for sci-fi action and violence, and brief sexual content.
Runtime: 126 mins.
Director: J.J. Abrams
Writer: Roberto Orci & Alex Kurtzman
Cast: Chris Pine; Zachary Quinto; Leonard Nimoy; Eric Bana
Tagline: Star Trek.
Genre: Action | Adventure | Sci-Fi
Memorable Quote: "Your father was captain of a starship for twelve minutes. He saved 800 lives, including yours. I dare you to do better. Enlist in Starfleet."
Release Date: May 8, 2009
DVD Release Date: November 17, 2009
Distributor: Paramount Pictures

5 Stars

Read more: Star Trek - DVD Review

Sin City - Blu-ray Review

Sin CityMPAA Rating: R for sustained strong stylized violence, nudity and sexual content including dialogue
Runtime: 126 mins.
Director: Frank Miller; Robert Rodriguez; Quentin Tarantino
Writer: Frank Miller
Cast: Bruce Willis; Mickey Rourke; Jessica Albs; Brittney Murphy; Clive Owen... complete cast
Tagline: Walk down the right back alley in Sin City and you can find anything.
Genre: Crime/Action/Drama
Memorable Quote: "Every ounce of me wants to get some killing done!"
Release Date: April 1, 2005
DVD Release Date: December 15, 2005.
Blu-ray Release Date: April 21, 2009
Distributor: Dimension Home Video (DVD) (Blu-ray)

4 stars

Read more: Sin City - Blu-ray Review

Movie Reviews

Our Tweets

 

You are here: Home Home Video DVD/Blu-ray
Follow us on Twitter
Like us on Facebook
Google+
Reel Reviews - Youtube Channel
Find us on Rotten Tomatoes